22 February – 1 June 2020 Monet Places

Claude Monet (1840–1926) was an early and persistent champion of plein airpainting, preferring to work outdoors and directly in front of the motif. Key to his artistic vision was the exploration of real places in situ, which required him to respond spontaneously to uncontrollable factors such as weather and light. His aim was to capture fleeting sensory impressions in an authentic and immediate manner. In this digital prologue to our large-scale Barberini retrospective, we take a brief look at some of the key places that inspired Monet’s Impressionist plein-air painting.

I only know that I do what I can to render what I feel when facing nature and that more often than not, when I try to do so, I completely forget the most basic rules of painting, if indeed there are any.

Claude Monet

Artistic Beginnings: Normandy and the Forest of Fontainebleau

Monet gained his first experience of outdoor painting in Normandy, the northernmost region of France, which quickly established itself as a hot-spot of the burgeoning seaside tourism in the middle of the 19thcentury. The Beach at Trouville is one of his best-known early works. It was executed in 1870, while Monet was on honeymoon with his first wife, Camille. Despite the remarkably free brushwork at play here, the artist rendered the hotels on the right with a keen eye for architectural details. Such an approach was typical of Monet, who always wanted to depict a place’s topography with as much precision as possible . 

Paris: Incarnation of the Modern Age

In the second half of the 19th century, the city of Paris had been radically restructured and modernized. With its wide boulevards and sun-drenched parks, the French capital provided the Impressionists with a wealth of welcome new motifs. Leisurely strolling or flânerie was in fashion, as city dwellers began to spend their spare time in public spaces. In his views of Paris, Monet focussed on a complex interplay of urban architecture, gardens full of light and people engaged in simultaneous activities. He captured each moment with striking painterly freedom.

You can hear the trains rumbling in, see the smoke billow up under the huge roof. (…) Our artists have to find the poetry in train stations, the way their fathers found the poetry in forests and rivers.

Émile Zola

Rural Idylls: A Life Along the Seine

Argenteuil

In 1871 Monet, his wife Camille and their son Jean moved to Argenteuil – a suburb of Paris that was known for its sailing regattas and imposing bridges. For Monet’s artistic tributes to the modern age, this picturesque little town, a popular destination for day trippers, presented a wealth of motifs. Above all, he painted the activities unfolding around the idyllic riverside: walking, sailing and rowing along the Seine. During the seven years he lived in Argenteuil, Impressionism established itself as France’s leading avant-garde movement.

The Seine, I have painted it all my life, at every time of day, in every season. From Paris down to the sea. I have never tired of it: to me it is always new

Claude Monet

Vétheuil

In late 1878 Monet moved to Vétheuil, a sleepy medieval village on the Seine some 65 kilometres north-west of Paris. The rustic surroundings of this remote community led to a turning-point in his art. While he had thus far favoured quintessentially modern, contemporary subjects, he now he focused on pure landscapes and timeless rural idylls. Among his best-known works of this period are his depictions of the so-called debacle – the break-up of ice on the river Seine, which had frozen over in the extremely cold winter of 1880. The series was executed a few months after Camille died of abdominal cancer at the age of 32.

Giverny

After Camille’s untimely death, Monet began a relationship with Alice Hoschedé, the former partner of one of his major early collectors. In 1883 he moved with her to Giverny, a little farming village in Normandy that was to remain his home until his death in 1926. In his paintings of this area, he surveyed the landscapes around the fertile valley of the Seine, studying rows of tall poplar trees and meadows lush with vegetation. With his depictions of the Grainstack she developed his famous serial approach, painting countless variations that showed the very same motif in different conditions of both weather and light.

In my view a landscape does not exist in itself, because its appearance is changing all the time; it lives through what encases it – the air and the light that keep altering. (…) For me the subject only acquires its true value from what surrounds it.

Claude Monet

Coasts of Northern France: Sublime Nature

Monet was fascinated by the rugged Atlantic coast in northern France. As the 19thcentury drew to a close, the view from the cliffs towards the horizon across the wind-tossed sea revived the experience of the sublime which the painters of Romanticism had associated with the primeval power of the sea. Many of Monet’s coastal scenes suggest an otherworldly, mystical contemplation of nature. In this respect they reflect this region’s highly idealised image as a remote haven as yet untouched by modern progress.

For his landscapes Monet often chose sights that were popular with tourists and symbolic landmarks of the region. In Étretat he frequently painted the Porte d’Aval and the Aiguille – striking rock formations that resembled a tall arch and a needle. In his serial views of these cliffs, Monet strategically shifted from one angle to another. This enabled him to fully exploit the compositional potential, which the the spatial interplay between the two structures offered.

A letter from Monet in Étretat, 1883

I was unperturbed by the waves that lapped around and died away a few paces from me. In short, so thoroughly absorbed was I that I failed to see an enormous wave that flung me against the cliff, and I was cast into the foam with all my equipment!

Claude Monet

Colors like Precious Stones: The Light of the Riviera

In 1884 and 1888 Monet embarked on two longer painting stints to the Mediterranean. The bright colors and lush vegetation of popular travel destinations such as Bordighera and Antibes inspired him to paint numerous sun-drenched scenes of this earthly paradise. For an artist accustomed to the cool tonality of Normandy, the piercing Riviera light came as a welcome change. He wrote enthusiastically to his friend Théodore Duret that he would need a palette of diamonds and sparkling precious stones to do justice on canvas to the jewel-like colours around him.

These palm trees will be the death of me; besides, the motifs are extremely difficult to capture, to place on the canvas; everything is so dense (…) but when one looks for motifs it is very difficult. I would like to do some orange and lemon trees standing out against the blue sea, but I cannot find any the way I want them. As for the blue of the sea and the sky, impossible!

Claude Monet

In his letters Monet often describes the need to obtain a sense of a new landscape, to find his way around an unknown area before he can begin translating it into paint. He often felt his way forward gradually by trying to depict a motif from different angles. In his views of Antibes too, he captured the old town from a variety of perspectives.

London: The Colours of Fog

For three consecutive winters from 1899, Monet spent several weeks in London, which he had already visited in the early 1870s. His best-known depictions of the British capital include views of Waterloo and Charing Cross Bridge. The combination of water, fog and modern stone architecture was an ideal projection screen for his exploration of the most subtle effects of color and light. Because of the constantly changing weather, Monet kept his paintings of the Thames bridges in the state of unfinished oil sketches, which he reworked and completed back in his studio in France.

What I like most of all in London is the fog. (…) Without the fog London would not be a beautiful city. It is the fog that gives London its magnificent breadth.

Claude Monet

Enchanting Light: Venice

Together with his wife Alice Monet spent several weeks of autumn 1908 in Venice – a city with an almost unmatched record of intriguing generations of artists before him. Like in London, he there focused here on the momentary interplay of striking architectural structures and colorful reflections produced by flickering light dancing on the surface of the water. The iridescent hues and mysterious flows of color endow his Venetian vistas with a remarkably dream-like, oneiric atmosphere.

Simple-minded scribblers and painters had torn Venice away from nature. Claude Monet came to Venice and brought nature back.

Octave Mirbeau

A letter from Monet in Venice, 1908

What a shame I did not come here when I was younger and entirely undaunted! Ah well… But I have spent some delightful moments here, almost forgetting I was the old man I am.

Claude Monet

Monet’s Garden: A Man-Made Paradise

In the 1890s Monet had an opulent water garden laid out for his home in Giverny. The heart of this landscape was an artificial pond of water-lilies crossed by a wooden bridge in the Japanese style. This elaborate backdrop in Monet’s self-created paradise transcended the category of natural landscapes in his art. This exotic environment was to become the almost exclusive focus for his late work.

It took me a long time to understand my water lilies. I planted them simply for pleasure; put them in without a thought for painting them. One does not discover a landscape in a single day. And then, quite suddenly, the magic of my pond was revealed to me. I picked up my palette. (…) Ever since then I have hardly touched another motif.

Claude Monet

The catalogue raisonné of Monet’s œuvre lists about 250 depictions of water-lilies. Today these works are among his best-known compositions and have become the very epitome of Impressionist art. The expressive coloring and loose brushwork of these paintings made Monet one of the main precursors of abstract art in the early 20thcentury.

I have no other wish than to mingle more closely with nature, and to live in harmony with her laws (...). Nature is greatness, power and immortality; compared with her, a creature is nothing, an atom.

Claude Monet

Monet: Places in 360 Degrees A virtual tour through the Monet exhibition

Take a 360-degree tour through the exhibition Monet: Places at the Museum Barberini. Discover the places where Monet created his paintings—from Paris and the Seine villages of Argenteuil, Vétheuil, and Giverny to foreign destinations like London or Venice. You can navigate between galleries and use the zoom function to explore details of each painting. Enjoy the journey!

22.2. – 19.7.2020 Monet Orte

Mehr als jeder andere Künstler seiner Zeit hatte sich Claude Monet (1840–1926) früh der Pleinairmalerei verschrieben und arbeitete mit Vorliebe direkt in freier Natur. Im Zentrum seines Schaffens stand die experimentelle Erforschung realer Orte, wobei er spontan auf unkontrollierbare Faktoren wie Witterungsverhältnisse und Licht reagieren musste. Flüchtige Sinneseindrücke wollte er unmittelbar und authentisch auf die Leinwand bannen. Der folgende Streifzug – der digitale Prolog zu unserer umfangreichen Barberini-Retrospektive – lädt zu einer Reise durch die verschiedenen Orte ein, aus denen Monet Inspiration für seine impressionistische Malerei bezog.

Ich weiß nur, dass ich im Hinblick auf die Natur alles tue, was in meiner Macht steht, um wiederzugeben, was ich empfinde, und dass ich meistens, wenn ich versuche, das wiederzugeben, was ich fühle, die grundlegenden Regeln der Malerei, sollten sie überhaupt existieren, vollkommen vergesse.

Claude Monet

Künstlerische Anfänge. Die Normandie und der Wald von Fontainebleau

Erste Erfahrungen beim Landschaftsstudium unter freiem Himmel machte Monet in der Normandie – der nördlichsten Region Frankreichs, die sich Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts als Zentrum des aufstrebenden Bädertourismus etabliert hatte. Der Strand von Trouville gehört zu seinen bekanntesten frühen Arbeiten und entstand 1870 während der Flitterwochen mit seiner ersten Frau Camille. Trotz der freien Pinselführung achtete er bei der Wiedergabe der Hotels rechts auf architektonische Details – ein typisches Vorgehen für Monet, der die Topographie der von ihm dargestellten Orte stets präzise umzusetzen versuchte.

Paris. Inbegriff der Moderne

In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde Paris grundlegend umgestaltet und modernisiert. Mit ihren breiten Boulevards und lichterfüllten Parks bot die französische Hauptstadt den Impressionisten willkommene neue Motive. Das Flanieren war in Mode, die städtische Bevölkerung verbrachte erstmals freie Zeit im öffentlichen Raum. In seinen Pariser Stadtansichten widmete sich Monet dem Zusammenspiel von urbaner Architektur, lichtdurchfluteten Gärten und komplexen, simultanen Abläufen, die er in Momentaufnahmen von großer malerischer Freiheit festhielt. 

Man hört die hereinratternden Züge und sieht, wie sich unter den hohen Dächern die Quellwolken auftürmen. [...] Unsere Künstler müssen die Poesie der Bahnhöfe entdecken, so wie ihre Väter die Poesie in Wäldern und Flüssen erkannt hatten.

Émile Zola

Ländliche Idyllen. Ein Leben entlang der Seine

Argenteuil

1871 zog Monet mit seiner Frau Camille und ihrem gemeinsamen Sohn Jean nach Argenteuil – einem Vorort von Paris, der für seine imposanten Brückenbauten und Segelregatten bekannt war. Als beliebtes Ausflugsziel bot das pittoreske Städtchen reichlich Motive für Monets der Moderne verpflichtete Malerei. So spürte er vor allem dem regen Treiben rund um die idyllische Flusslandschaft nach, malte Spaziergänger, Segler und Rudersportler entlang der Seine. Während seiner insgesamt sieben Jahre in Argenteuil avancierte der Impressionismus zur bedeutendsten Avantgardebewegung Frankreichs.

Die Seine, mein ganzes Leben habe ich sie gemalt, zu jeder Tageszeit, zu jeder Jahreszeit. Von Paris bis zum Meer. Ich wurde ihrer nie müde: Sie ist für mich immer wieder neu.

Claude Monet

Vétheuil

Ende 1878 siedelte Monet nach Vétheuil über – einem verschlafenen mittelalterlichen Seine-Dorf etwa 65 Kilometer nordwestlich von Paris. Die rustikale Umgebung des abgelegenen Wohnorts führte zu einem Wendepunkt in seiner Malerei. Hatte er sich zuvor mit Vorliebe modernen, zeitgenössischen Sujets gewidmet, so setzte er sich nun vor allem mit reiner Landschaftsmalerei und zeitlosen Naturidyllen auseinander. Zu seinen bekanntesten Werken dieser Jahre gehören seine Darstellungen des Eisbruchs auf der Seine, die im extrem kalten Winter von 1880 zugefroren war. Die Bildreihe entstand wenige Monate nach dem Tod Camilles, die im Alter von nur 32 Jahren an Unterleibskrebs gestorben war.

Giverny

Nach dem Tod von Camille ging Monet eine Beziehung mit Alice Hoschedé ein, der ehemaligen Partnerin eines seiner wichtigsten frühen Sammler. Gemeinsam mit ihr zog er 1883 nach Giverny, einem kleinen Bauerndorf in der Normandie, das bis zu seinem Tod 1926 seine Heimat bleiben sollte. In seinen Darstellungen der Gegend ging er der Landschaft rund um das fruchtbare Seinetal nach, widmete sich hoch aufragenden Pappelreihen und üppigen Feldern. Mit der Werkreihe der Getreideschober entwickelte er sein berühmtes Serienverfahren, bei dem er ein einziges Motiv bei unterschiedlichen Lichtstimmungen und Witterungsverhältnissen in zahlreichen Variationen in den Blick nahm. 

Für mich existiert eine Landschaft nicht an und für sich, weil ihre Erscheinung sich jeden Moment verändert; sie lebt durch das, was sie umhüllt – durch die Luft und das Licht, die ständig wechseln. (…) Für mich erhält das Sujet erst durch seine Umgebung seinen wahren Wert.

Claude Monet

Küsten in Nordfrankreich. Erhabene Natur

Monet war fasziniert von der rauen Atlantikküste im Norden Frankreichs. Der Blick von den Klippen auf den Horizont und die windumtoste See rief gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts noch einmal die Erfahrung des Erhabenen hervor, die die Maler der Romantik mit der Urgewalt des Meers verbunden hatten. Viele von Monets Küstenbildern vermitteln den Anschein einer weltentrückten, geradezu mystischen Naturbetrachtung. Somit spiegeln sie einen stark idealisierten Blick auf diese Regionen als abgelegene, vom Fortschritt der Moderne unbelassene Rückzugsorte wider.

Für seine Landschaftsdarstellungen wählte Monet häufig touristisch beliebte Sehenswürdigkeiten, die für die jeweilige Gegend unmittelbaren Symbolcharakter hatten. In Étretat etwa malte er wiederholt die Porte d’Aval und die Aiguille – markante Felsformationen, die einem hoch aufragenden Bogen und einer Nadel ähnelten. In seinen seriellen Ansichten der Klippen wechselte Monet strategisch den Blickpunkt. Nur so konnte er die kompositorischen Möglichkeiten, die das Zusammenspiel der beiden Strukturen bot, experimentell voll ausschöpfen.

Brief Monets aus Étretat, 1883

Ich war so vertieft, dass ich nicht merkte, wie eine riesige Welle herankam, die mich gegen den Fels schleuderte, sodass ich mit meinem ganzen Malzeug in der Gischt landete!

Claude Monet

Farben wie Edelsteine. Im Licht der Riviera

1884 und 1888 brach Monet zu zwei ausgedehnten Malausflügen ans Mittelmeer auf. Die leuchtenden Farben und üppige Vegetation rund um die beliebten Ausflugsziele Bordighera und Antibes regten ihn zu zahlreichen sonnendurchfluteten Paradieslandschaften an. Für den Maler, der an die kühlen Tonalitäten der Normandie gewohnt war, bedeutete das gleißende Licht der Riviera eine willkommene Abwechslung. Gegenüber seinem Freund Théodore Duret äußerte er begeistert, dass man eine Palette aus Diamanten und funkelnden Edelsteinen bräuchte, um den juwelenartigen Farben malerisch gerecht zu werden.

Diese Palmen treiben mich in den Wahnsinn; und auch die Motive lassen sich extrem schwer wiedergeben und auf die Leinwand bannen, alles ist so üppig; (…) aber wenn man nach Motiven sucht, ist es ohnehin sehr schwierig. Ich würde gerne Orangen- und Zitronenbäume vor dem Hintergrund des blauen Meers malen, aber ich kann keine finden, die so sind, wie ich es mir wünsche. Das Blau des Meers und des Himmels ist unglaublich.

Claude Monet

In seinem Briefwechsel sprach Monet immer wieder von seinem Bedürfnis zunächst ein Gespür für eine Landschaft entwickeln zu müssen, sich in eine bisher unbekannte Gegend einzuleben, bevor er sie malerisch umsetzen konnte. Häufig tastete er sich schrittweise an einen neuen Ort heran, indem er das Motiv aus mehreren Perspektiven aus darzustellen versuchte Auch in seinen Ansichten Antibes hielt er die Altstadt aus verschiedenen Blickpunkten festhielt.

London. Die Farben des Nebels

Ab 1899 verbrachte Monet drei aufeinanderfolgende Winter mehrere Wochen in London, das er bereits zu Beginn der 1870er Jahre besucht hatte. Zu seinen bekanntesten Ansichten der britischen Hauptstadt zählen seine Darstellungen der Waterloo und Charing Cross Bridge. Die Kombination aus Wasser, Nebel und moderner Steinarchitektur war eine ideale Projektionsfläche für seine Erforschung subtilster Effekte von Farbe und Licht. Aufgrund des ständig wechselnden Wetters beließ Monet seine Bilder der Themse-Brücken zunächst im Stadium von Freiluftskizzen, die er erst nach seiner Rückkehr nach Frankreich überarbeitete und fertigstellte.

Was ich an London am meisten liebe, ist der Nebel. (…) Ohne den Nebel wäre London keine schöne Stadt. Es ist der Nebel, der London eine wunderbare Weite gibt.

Claude Monet

Zauberhaftes Licht. Venedig

Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Alice verbrachte Monet im Herbst 1908 mehrere Wochen in Venedig – einer Stadt, die wie kaum ein anderer Ort bereits Generationen von Malern vor ihm in den Bann gezogen hatte. Wie in London konzentrierte sich der Künstler auch hier auf das momenthafte Zusammentreffen von markanten architektonischen Strukturen und farbigen Spiegelungen auf der von flirrendem Licht umspielten Wasseroberfläche. Das leuchtende Kolorit und die geheimnisvollen Farbverläufe verleihen seinen Venedig-Bildern eine seltsam weltentrückte, träumerische Grundstimmung.

Die Einfalt von Schreiberlingen und Malern hatte Venedig der Natur entrissen. Claude Monet kam nach Venedig und brachte die Natur dorthin zurück.

Octave Mirbeau

Brief Monets aus Venedig, 1908

Wie schade, dass ich nicht in jüngeren Jahren herkam, als ich noch voller Wagemut war! Nun ja… Aber ich habe hier wunderbare Momente erlebt und beinahe vergessen, wie alt ich inzwischen bin.

Claude Monet

Monets Garten. Ein selbst geschaffenes Paradies

In Giverny ließ Monet in den 1890er Jahren einen opulenten Wassergarten gestalten. Im Zentrum der Anlage befand sich ein künstlicher Seerosenteich, der von einer japanischen Holzbrücke überspannt wurde. Als aufwendig inszenierte Kulisse transzendierte das selbst geschaffene Paradies die Kategorie des natürlichen Orts in Monets Kunst. Das exotische Environment wurde zum nahezu exklusiven Fokus seines Spätwerks.

Ich habe lange gebraucht, um meine Seerosen zu verstehen. Ich hatte sie zu meinem Vergnügen gepflanzt; hatte sie angelegt, ohne daran zu denken, sie zu malen. Eine Landschaft erschließt sich einem nicht an einem einzigen Tag. Und dann, auf einmal haben sich mir die Zaubereien meines Teichs offenbart. Ich habe zur Palette gegriffen (...). Seit dieser Zeit hatte ich kaum ein anderes Motiv.

Claude Monet

Im Werkverzeichnis zu Monets Œuvre sind rund 250 Darstellungen der Seerosen dokumentiert. Heute zählen diese Arbeiten zu seinen bekanntesten Kompositionen und gelten als Inbegriff der impressionistischen Malerei schlechthin. Das expressive Kolorit und die lockere Pinselführung dieser Bilder machten Monet zu einem der bedeutendsten Wegbereiter der abstrakten Malerei im frühen 20. Jahrhundert.

Ich habe keinen anderen Wunsch, als mich enger mit der Natur zu verbinden und strebe kein anderes Schicksal an als in Harmonie mit ihren Gesetzen zu leben (...). Natur ist Größe, Kraft und Unsterblichkeit; im Vergleich zu ihr ist ein Geschöpf nichts als ein armseliges Atom.

Claude Monet

Monet. Orte in 360° Digital durch die Monet-Ausstellung

In dieser 360° Tour können Sie die Ausstellung Monet. Orte im Museum Barberini digital durchstreifen. Zu entdecken sind die Orte, an denen die Gemälde entstanden sind – von der Großstadt Paris und den Seine-Dörfern Argenteuil, Vétheuil und Giverny bis zu Reisezielen wie London oder Venedig. Sie können virtuell von einem Ausstellungsraum zum anderen navigieren und durch die Zoom-Funktion jedes Bild im Detail betrachten. Viel Spaß!